Home Page

Reception Curriculum


We follow the EYFS curriculum in Reception which consists of seven areas of learning:


  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Physical Development
  • Communication and Language
  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design

We also place a high importance on the children's characteristics of effective learning:


  • Playing and Exploring
    •       Finding out and exploring
    •       Playing with what they know
    •       Being willing to "have a go"


  • Active Learning
    • Being involved and concentrating
    • Keeping trying
    • Enjoying achieveing what they set out to do


  • Creating and thinking critically
    • Having their own ideas
    • Making links
    • Choosing ways to do things

We deliver our curriculum through the whole school "Learning Challenge" approach which sits well alongside the EYFS principles.  We introduce a new topic each half term, curriculum maps for these can be found on this page.


Our learning presented through a learning journey on the classroom wall.