Home Page

Key Staff

Mrs Shirley Duggan - SENCo

Mrs Shirley Duggan is school SENCo.  She has worked at the school for over 30 years.  Having officially retired from teaching in July 2012, Mrs Duggan was asked by school to continue on in the role of SENCo which she has done ever since.  Mrs Duggan lives locally and has watched pupils turn into parents and some into grandparents!  She has a wealth of knowledge to bring to the SEND role which is appreciated and admired by staff and parents alike. Mrs Duggan works in school on a Monday, Wednesday morning and a Thursday.


She has completed a number of training courses including:

  • A diploma in Special Educational Needs 
  • Qualifications in Speech and Language and ASD.
  • Recent training to develop strategies for children with ASD e.g. Lego Club, Talking Mat

Mrs Joanne E. Shaw - Head Teacher

Mrs Joanne E. Shaw has been Head Teacher at the school since September 2007.  She has worked with Mrs Duggan during this time to ensure all SEND pupils have their individual needs met and that they make progress in their learning throughout their time at school.

Mr Bill McDowall - SEND Governor


Mr Bill McDowall is the SEND Governor.  Mrs Duggan and Mr McDowall meet termly to discuss SEND issues and monitor the performance of SEND pupils.

Other staff in school

All T.A’s in school have had speech and Language training and all deliver speech and language programmes in a 1-1 situation.


Some members of staff including the SENCo have had training on the use of Makaton sign language.


Three T.A.’s have been trained as mentors to work 1-1 with children who have Social, Emotional and Mental Health issues.

Several members of staff have been trained to work with children who have attachment issues.


We have 3 trained counsellors who work with a range of children across the age range from Reception to Year 6 including SEND pupils.