Catchgate Primary School

  • SearchSearch Site
  • Translate Translate Page
  • Instagram Instagram
  • Facebook Facebook
  • Our Trust

Welcome Message

Welcome to Catchgate Primary School!

We are a busy and friendly school with lots going on. This website aims to give you a taster of the school, as well as providing regular updated information for both parents and pupils.

We hope that you enjoy your visit to our website, and that you find any information you are looking for. Please feel free to contact the school direct with any queries you may have.

Thank you for visiting!


Mrs Joanne E. Shaw

Head Teacher 

Key Staff

Mrs Joanne E. Shaw has been Head Teacher at the school since September 2007. 


Alongside Mrs McDonald, Mrs Shaw also has responsibility for special education needs (SENCo). The SEND Governor is Jeanette Stephenson.


Our Designated Safeguarding Lead (DSL) is Mrs Shaw (Headteacher).

Deputy Designated Safeguarding Leads are:

  • Mrs McDonald (SENCO and KS1 Lead)
  • Mrs Laws (EYFS Lead)
  • Mrs Nicholson (2-Year Lead EYP)
  • Mrs Hodgson (Behaviour and Parental Lead)


Chair of Governors: Andrew Whitehead

Vice Chair of Governors: Christine Oliver

Safeguarding Governor: Jeanette Stephenson


Other key staff:

  • Mrs Nicola Bambridge - School Business Manager

  • Mrs Danielle Hodgson - Parental Support and Behaviour Lead

  • Mrs Lynn Whitehead-Lewis - Counsellor

  • Mrs Lesley Saborn - Attendance Officer

  • Mrs Julie Patterson - Parent Support Advisor

New College Durham Academies Trust

The focus on Excellence underpins all that we do whether in learning areas, working within the communities we serve or governing and leading our Academies.

Visit Site